Level 2

Below is a list of all Level 2 Subjects

Choose a Subject

English is compulsory at Level 2. Students select 10 units of optional subjects – a full year course is worth 2 units and half-year is 1 unit.

Level 2 NCEA is normally for Year 12 students (Form 6 under the old system). However, NCEA does allow for multi-level study. When a student achieves a standard, they gain a number of credits.

At Level 2 they must obtain 80 credits to gain an NCEA Level 2 certificate, with 60 credits at Level 2 and above. The other 20 can come from anywhere on the National Qualifications framework.

This must also include Level 1 literacy and numeracy requirements.

Students are recognised for high achievement at each level by gaining NCEA with Merit or NCEA with Excellence. High achievement in a course is also recognised. For more information, read about Endorsements.
60 credits at Level 2 or above
20 credits from anywhere on the NQF
Level 1 literacy and numeracy
Total = 80 credits

Video on how to Understand NCEA