When choosing to study at New Plymouth Boys’ High School, you will gain a world-recognised high-school qualification called National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) Levels 1-3. This qualification is widely recognised in countries all over the world.

We offer over 160 subjects to cater for the many interests, skills, and ambitions of our students. Our International Dean will work with you to plan your future pathway and ensure you have the subjects needed to reach your goals. Subject availability is determined by the time of year and the number of students in a class, but with so much choice, there are many possibilities.

English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) programmes teach English to people whose first language is not English, but who live in an English-speaking country and require English to communicate in daily life. 

Our dedicated ESOL Department will work closely with you to assess and support your English language learning and progress. You will be assessed on your ESOL requirements when you arrive.

The New Zealand High School System

High School in New Zealand begins with Year 9 (13 years) and ends with Year 13 (17-18 years). Years 9 and 10 offer students a wide curriculum that allows them to explore and develop skills in many areas. This is a great time to learn what your strengths and interests are.

Years 11-13 focus on NCEA, delivering Levels 1-3 over the 3-year period. The NCEA system has wonderful flexibility, enabling students to work across several levels at the same time. This allows us to work with you, building a timetable and an individual education programme (IEP) to meet your individual needs and goals.

Year 9     13-14 years
Year 10   14-15 years
Year 11   15-16 years
Year 12   16-17 years
Year 13   17-18 years

Is the New Zealand Curriculum recognised in other countries?

Our NCEA qualification (delivered by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority) is recognised by countries including the United States, Australia, India, England, Hong Kong, Korea, Thailand, Spain, and most countries belonging to the European Union.  

New Zealand leads the way in giving our students the skills needed for future success in a rapidly changing world.