Competing and co-operating for the benefits of young men.

Formed in 1997, the New Zealand Super Eight group of school's incorporates the eight boys’ high school's from their respective provincial cities of the central North Island.

The School's that make up the Super Eight group are:
  • New Plymouth Boys’ High School
  • Hamilton Boys’ High School
  • Rotorua Boys’ High School
  • Tauranga Boys’ College
  • Gisborne Boys’ High School
  • Napier Boys' High School
  • Hastings Boys’ High School
  • Palmerston North Boys’ High School

The first sporting competitions commenced in 1998, involving rugby and cricket. Since that time, the Super Eight concept has grown to include not only ten sports competitions, but also a cultural festival and professional development programmes for management staff and curriculum teachers.

The school individually and collectively reflect a traditional ethos of education,  which relates to their long histories as cornerstones in their regions. Old Boys have a prominence across society as: University academics and educators, senior business managers  and entrepreneurs, civic leaders and politicians and as sport and cultural icons.

Today the New Zealand Super Eight School’s is synonymous with excellence in education, innovation in management and outstanding performance on stage and the sports field.

Super Eight Sports and Activities:
  • Badminton          
  • Basketball
  • Clay Target
  • Chess                    
  • Cricket                  
  • Cross Country
  • Cultural 
  • Hockey 
  • 2nd XV
  • 1st XV
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball